Thrashers wrap up 2018/19 season home games

The Thrashers wrapped up this season’s home games this week as they welcomed the Red Deer Vipers on Tuesday January 29th, and the Ponoka Stampeders on Saturday February 2nd. On Friday February 1st the team was in Airdrie where they fell to the Techmation Thunder, with a score of 22-2.

When Red Deer came to town, the Thrashers were able to hold the Vipers to a 4-1 score after two periods, however the third proved to be a challenge for the Thrashers. When the buzzer sounded the score was 10

Read more

Assure Seeds Team wins Top Spot in Acme Business Bonspiel

Our 2019 Acme 22nd Annual Business Bonspiel had 22 teams with great competition, close games and spirited spectator support for curling Monday through Friday nights and all day Saturday. Complimentary food each night, a banquet Friday night and cash & gift card prizes for the 10 top teams. Acme Business Spiel Committee members responsible for organizing and delivering this year’s successful event were President Paul Wiebe, Glen Rieger, Earl Jeninga, Travis Leinweber, Mike Miller, Doug

Read more

Weekend win for the Three Hills Thrashers

The Three Hills Thrashers came away at .500 after a weekend of games, with a loss at the hands of the Blackfalds Wranglers on Friday night, and a win over the Ponoka Stampeders on Saturday.

The Wranglers were solidly the stronger team on Friday night, opening the scoring and keeping the game at 2-0 through to the end of the first period. Soon into the second, the Thrashers were able to score with a goal by Hall from Schrock and Van Doren, but Blackfalds came back with two quick ones, and then a

Read more

Huxley 38th Annual All-Nighter Bonspiel

The Huxley 38th Annual All-Nighter Bonspiel wrapped up just after 4 pm on Sunday. January 20.

The Trophy went to the winners of the A event under Skip Mitch Bauer rink, of Torrington, over the Gary Bucker rink from Kelowna.

The winners in the B event was the Justin Nillson rink from Edmonton over the Jeff Rawlings rink from Edmonton.

C event winners were the Randy McArthur rink from Huxley over the Richard Jensen rink from Huxley.

Some team members, from years past, now travel from great distan

Read more