Acme's 56th Flower and Vegetable Show results



The theme for Acme's 56th Flower and Vegetable Show was dedicated to the Village's Centennial Year celebration "Then and Now". In both present times and in the past it is always volunteers that keep alive and thriving, events such as the flower show, from organizers to participants and of course, the Acme Royal Purple ladies for providing the tea and squares and the youth for serving, set-up, and taking down the tables. The participation of all equals the success of 56 flower show years.
In spite of some weirder-than-usual summer weather, the number of entrants and total number of entries were almost identical to last year. Organizers say they received slightly more entries in the vegetable classes and a few less entries over-all from children. In the two main divisions the show received 137 flower entries and 125 vegetable. Total combined number of entries were 316 with the total number of entrants being 47. There were entries for all major trophy winning classes except for "Best Dining Table Centerpiece". Judges came from Strathmore and Innisfail. 2010 Trophy winners are as follows:
Grand Champion Glads was won by Ken Daubert, while Lucy Ann Daubert won the Reserved Champion Glad. These 2 awards as well as the Best Dahlia, won by Jean Thiessen, were sponsored by Alberta Egg & Fowl Marketing Board. The Eileen Derr Memorial Plaque for Dahlia Arrangement was won by Joyce Kisko. Lena Loewen Memorial Trophy for Best Rose was won by Carol Pate, who also won the Margaret Pearson Memorial Plaque for Best Rose Bowl. Best Sweet Peas (Kessler Memorial Trophy) winner was Lucille Metzger, the Best Pansy (Mary Crawford Memorial Plaque) winner was Theresa Rodger and Best Collection of Wild Flowers and Grasses (Harding-Boake Trophy) winner was Frances Lukey. Dorothy Allen won in 3 categories: the Best Pansy Vase (Royal Purple gift), Buffet Arrangement (Hope Memorial), and for Most Points in Show (Etha Pippus Trophy). Other winners included Ulla Pinel for Best Potato (George Merrifield Memorial Trophy), as well as the Most Points in Vegetable Class (Ella Toole Trophy) and Jessica Wiebe for Best Vegetable Collection (Bowden Nurseries Trophy).
The Legion Awards in poppy classes were presented by Peter Snyder to Evelyn Gibson (won 2 classes), Nelda Lyczewski, John Koch, and Eleanor Walesky.
Youth Shields were presented to (Preschool) Garrett Bertamini, Maverick Metzger, (Junior) Emily Aldridge - most points, Chayse Aldridge, and Aidan and Avery Miller. In (Intermediate) Mercedez Allen had most points, with Sydney Jackson the runner-up. In (Youth Class) Austin Allen had most points, with Parker Jackson the runner-up.
Door Prize Winners included Lucille Taylor, Peter Snyder, Rhoda Hannah, Vicki Thurn, and D. Pruden.