Kneehill County Council Minutes - September 9, 2014

PRESENT: Div. 5 - Bob Long, Reeve; Div. 3 - Jerry Wittstock, Deputy Reeve (Video Conf); Councillors: Div. 1 - Brian Holsworth, Div. 2 - Carol Calhoun, Div. 4 - Glen Keiver, Div. 6 - Ken Hoppins, Div. 7 - Bobby Painter.
ADMINISTRATION PRESENT: CAO - Al Hoggan; Assistant CAO - Laurie Watt; Recording Secretary - Carolyn Van der Kuil; Director of Operations - Pete McRae; Director of Finance - Mike Morton; Communications Officer - Debra Grosfield.
Reeve Long called the meeting to order at 8:31 a.m.
Present when the meeting convened was Bowen Clausen, Manager of Agriculture Services and Parks, Dharmesh Vyas, Planning and Development Officer and Brenda Schimke, reporter for the East Central Alberta Review.
Additions to the Agenda (under in-camera): 13.2 Labour, 13.3 Labour, 13.4 Legal.
Al Hoggan, CAO introduced Dharmesh Vyas to Council. Dharmesh has accepted the Planning and Development Officer position. On behalf of Council Reeve Long welcomed Mr. Vyas to the County.
Mr. Vyas left the meeting at 8:35 a.m.
Clr. Holsworth moved approval of the agenda as amended. CARRIED
Clr. Calhoun moved approval of the August 26, 2014 Council Meeting minutes as presented. CARRIED
Clr. Hoppins moved that Council receive the Operations Report as presented. CARRIED
Clr. Holsworth moved that the CAO report for July and August 2014 be received for information. CARRIED
Debi Moon, reporter for the Capital, entered the meeting at 8:59 a.m.
Clr. Hoppins moved that Council approve the Bare Ground Shoulder Spraying Program as recommended by the Agricultural Service Board. CARRIED
The meeting recessed from 9:01 a.m. to 9:11 a.m.
Bowen Clausen was not present when the meeting reconvened.
Clr. Calhoun moved that Council receive the Regional Resource Urban Sustainability Grant Report as presented. CARRIED
Clr. Calhoun moved that, Policy 15-10, Youth Sponsorship, be accepted as proposed and amended. CARRIED
Delegation - David Hibbs
Mr. Hibbs spoke to Council on why the Councillor in Division 7 has been removed from all Committees and Boards and attendance at any other events representing Kneehill County. He also wanted to know why Council is building a Medical Clinic Building.
The meeting recessed from 9:44 a.m. to 9:52 a.m.
Council and Committee
Drumheller and District Solid Waste Management Association - Written report was submitted by Councillor Calhoun on the meeting she attended on August 28, 2014. Approved minutes were provided from the June 19th, 2014 meeting.
Agricultural Service Board - Unapproved minutes were provided from the August 20, 2014 meeting.
Kneehill Ambulance Society - Minutes were provided from the August 19, 2014 meeting.
Municipal Planning Commission - Minutes were provided from the June 26, 2014 meeting.
Clr. Wittstock moved that Council receive the Council and Committee reports as presented. CARRIED
Clr. Calhoun moved that Council receive the Correspondence Report as presented. CARRIED
Debi Moon left the meeting at 10:02 a.m.
Clr. Calhoun moved that Council receive the September 9, 2014 Council Follow-Up Action List as presented for information. CARRIED
Clr. Calhoun moved that Council go into In-Camera at 10:03 a.m. CARRIED
Clr. Wittstock, Brenda Schimke and David Hibbs left the meeting at 10:03 a.m.
Pete McRae, Debra Grosfield and Mike Morton left the meeting at 10:16 a.m.
Clr. Painter excused himself from the meeting at 10:36 a.m. due to possible perceived pecuniary interest.
Laurie Watt left the meeting at 10:37 a.m.
Clr. Painter re-entered the meeting at 11:13 a.m.
Al Hoggan and Carolyn Van der Kuil left the meeting at 11:21 a.m.
Clr. Calhoun moved that Council go out of In-Camera at 11:30 am. CARRIED
The meeting adjourned at 11:35 a.m.